English

Стандартный

Ex. 1, 2 

Ex. 3.

A: Have you heard the soundtrack to the new vampire film, Dawningsa?

B: Yeah, I downloaded it from the Internet the other day. There’s a great duet by Flint and James Berry. They sing really well together.

A: Flint’s last album didn’t sell well at all. It was a complete flop.

B: I know. The songs were different from his usual material.

A: I agree. Did you listen to the lyrics? They didn’t have any meaning to them at all.

Grammar

Ex. 4.

1) Madonna sang with a group called Breakfast Club when she was young.

2) Everybody was Madonna’s first hit in 1982.

3) Madonna married actor Sean Penn in 1985.

4) She appeared in the film Desperately Seeking Susan in the same year.

5) She won a Golden Globe for the film Evita.

6) Madonna’s album Music sold four million copies in ten days.

7) Madonna had her first child in 1996.

8) Madonna wrote a book for children called The English Roses.

1) Elvis made the first ever music video: Jailhouse Rock.

2) Elvis once owned a pet chimpanzee called Scatter.

3) He worked as a lorry driver before becoming a singer.

4) Elvis married Priscilla in 1967.

5) His hit Heartbreak Hotel sold 300,000 copies the first week,

6) Elvis was called the King of Rock & Roll but he only ever won a Grammy for his gospel music.

7) Elvis bought his famous Graceland mansion in 1957.

8) In 1982, Elvis’ ex-wife Priscilla opened Graceland to the public.

Page 11

Ex. 5.

Write the questions for the answers, using the prompts.

1) A: What did you have for lunch yesterday?

    B: I had a salad.

2) A: What did you do Saturday night?

    B: I went out with some friends.

3) A: What time did you get up this morning?

    B: I got up at half past six.

4) A: What time did you leave the house this morning?

    B: I left the house at eight o’clock.

5) A: Did you read the Sunday newspaper?

    B: I read The Sunday Times.

Ex. 6.

1) She met Bob for lunch.

2) She didn’t finish the report on the concert locations.

3) She met with with the marketing representatives.

4) She didn’t take the suit to the cleaners.

5) She rang Shane to organize the party.

6) She didn’t talk to the producers about the CD cover.

7) She checked the concert dates.

8) She organized the accommodations for the journalists.

9) She payed the video company.

10) She talked to the sound engineers.

Pronunciation

Ex. 7.

b. Put the underlined verbs into the correct column according to the pronunciation of -ed.

/t/                  /d/                   /id/

worked     moved        wanted

kissed        loved          ended

finished    believed     waited

c. Add three more verbs to each column.

/t/                 /d/                   /id/

asked       proved          founded

liked        organized     hoarded

stopped   opened         landed

Ex. 8. a. Complete the sentences with the correct words from the box.

a) Six weeks ago I sold my business for $2 million.

b) In the mid 1990s I graduated from university with a degree in music.

c) When I was a teenager I played four musical instruments.

d) After working for two years in my old university I started my own business making musical instruments.

e) I left school in 1990.

f) Last year I decided I wanted to stop working.

g) A year later I started working in my old university.

b. Put the events in order to make a life story.

1 c, 2 e, 3 b, 4 g, 5 d, 6 f, 7 a

Оставьте комментарий